New Year, New Challenge

So, I’ve been talking about this idea for some time now, and I think it’s time (before I run out of time in the first month of 2011) to make it official. A new personal knitting challenge, but a year long one this time (as opposed to the mad rush that was last year’s Summer of Socks challenge).

A Year in Colour

colour schedule

The challenge? To knit at least one item in a designated colour for each month of 2011. It can be any project, any size; the point is to broaden my colour horizons, so to speak, and encourage myself to embrace colours I normally wouldn’t choose. I’m really warming up to yellow recently; I don’t have much green in my wardrobe; and I don’t think I’ve ever knit with solid black (I’m such a wimp!)…

For January I’ve chosen the Allons-y shawl by Glenna C. knit with the Tanis Fiber Arts Purple Label Cashmere Sock in “Poppy”

colour study number one

As some of you know, Glenna now lives in Peterborough and she dashed into the shop one day last September with the shawl prototype in hand for an impromptu photo shoot. And ever since that day, I knew I wanted needed one of my own. It’s been ages since I’ve knit a shawlette-style scarf, and Allons-y features a nice all-over pattern that isn’t too distracting or geometric. The cashmere-blend sock yarn is warm and heavy and drapey, and the “Poppy” colourway is a saturated strong red with burgundy lowlights. Or in other words, yarn perfection. I have a week to finish it. I’ll let you know how it goes…

However, I have already knit a bit of red this month, in the form of these:

heartwarming!

Yes, knitted hearts – of the anatomical variety! I was asked a little while ago by the people at the Cannery Art Centre here in Peterborough about rallying the knitters to produce some sort of window display for February, and I mentioned that there was a pattern for a knitted anatomical heart. They love the idea, and now I’m trying to get as many of these finished as possible for February. Each one only takes about five hours of actual knitting time, and uses about 25 grams of yarn. If you’re interested in making one this week, let me know – we can get you set up with anything you need, including the red roving for the valve ends! We’ll put tags inside the valves so that each knitter can get his or her heart back after their stint in a local art gallery window… It’s like they’ll be famous! :)

8 Responses to “New Year, New Challenge”


  1. 1 Iris January 24, 2011 at 11:14 am

    Oh! I love knitting, and the cannery, and these hearts. I might be interested…I am *almost* finished knitting the socks I started in October, so…maybe I will stop in? My knitting resolution is to knit fewer rectangles this year.

    • 2 needlesinthehay January 28, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      Hey! Do stop in this weekend if you need some guidance for the hearts – my understanding is that the Cannery’s February opening isn’t until Friday, so we still have a couple days. If you have red scraps kicking around though, definitely use those up! :)

  2. 3 Ameryn January 24, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    I love your New Year Challenge! You have inspired me to do the same!

  3. 5 Fiona January 30, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    I’ve been lurking for a few weeks now, but I couldn’t resist commenting on this post. I love this colour challenge — I’m in! I’ll give it a go, at least. I’m just about finished a red hat for my son. Orange might be tricky… socks maybe?

    Those hearts are rather neat — is the opening on this coming Friday, i.e. the 4th?

    BTW — That shawl is going to be gorgeous!

  4. 6 Fiona January 30, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    P.S. Your Summer of Socks challenge is nothing short of amazing! The shoes are pretty cute too. I love sock No. 2 (Laeticia by Stephanie van der Linden) — hey, that could be my February! Is it tricky/fussy?

  5. 7 Meredith January 31, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    LOVE this idea.
    This may have to be incorporated into my “year of hand knit socks”

  6. 8 LoriAngela January 31, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    I have decided to join you in this challenge by linking it to one of my own. I plan to knit twelve children’s hats this year for Project Help Mexico. You have inspired me to add to the fun by knitting a rainbow of hats. I’d better get today’s done for January.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Blog Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

