Lady February

Well, here we are, officially into Spring 2011, and I’m *finally* posting the official Orange:

february lady

February Lady Sweater! In Galway Heather’s “Cinnamon”, it took a little more than three balls.

february lady in galway heathers

I’m still debating over buttons – the wooden ones I had in mind are too big for the buttonholes! – but I’m not in any big furry hurry… As previously mentioned, I’m way more jazzed about wearing this in the fall.

I used some of my leftovers in a swatch for the Steeking class we had here on Sunday, taught by the lovely Glenna C.

first steek!

My first ever steek! Steeking is where you cut your knitting on purpose, usually so that you can knit something (say, a sweater) in the round, and then cardiganize it, or add armholes, by cutting stitches on purpose, usually reinforcing the edges first. It was awesome; you should check out Glenna’s post here about it, and make sure to attend the Kniterary Night at the Peterborough Public Library next week (Monday the 28th) where Glenna will be talking about the awesomeness of steeking…

Tomorrow night (Wednesday) is the first class of the last session of the Beginner Refresher class before summer – this class is great for knitters who have been away from the craft for a while (and may be feeling a bit foggy on some of the particulars) or recent beginners looking to broaden their horizons. The project for the class is a basic ribbed hat, so we’ll cover casting on and joining in the round, and the K2Tog and SSK decreases, as well as an overview on reading and understanding pattern instructions. We still have some spaces open, so send me an email (info@needlesinthehay.ca) if you want to sign up!

5 Responses to “Lady February”


  1. 1 LoriAngela March 22, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Love your February Lady. I made mine too large, so I’ll have to try again. That is a wonderful orange. I’m following your rainbow, but with charity hats.

  2. 2 Laura March 22, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I love it! Great colourway of Galway, too.

  3. 3 melanie davidson March 24, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Beautiful……now that I’ve seen it will work up my courage to try it too!

  4. 4 Rebecca March 27, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Whatcha knitting for March’s yellow? We’re running out of days and last time I saw you knitting it was super-duper green! ;-)

  5. 5 Desiree Fawn March 28, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    LOVE that colour — and the sweater is gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Blog Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

