Coming Soon – Summer Knit-Along for “Lakeshore Shawl”

So, when Glenna presented her trunk show here a couple weeks ago she had *just* finished the final piece in her Urban Collection – a shawl in Tanis Fiber Arts Silver Label Mulberry Silk Lace yarn in the “Garnet” colourway. Glenna’s named it the Lakeshore Shawl, and it’s just stunning, I think all of us who were here for the trunk show fell a little in love with it…

The next day, Glenna and I headed out after shop hours and moseyed along the waterfront (waterfront, Lakeshore… get it?) and I got to wear this marvelous garment while Glenna snapped some photos. It makes me feel a bit sheepish to pose for photos, but spending that quality time with this shawl convinced me: I want this shawl. I need it. A lot.

A couple days later someone suggested an in-store knit-along for the summer. PERFECT. We haven’t done a knit-along in the store yet, but it’s something I’ve been wanting to do. Here’s how it works: you sign up for the knitalong, I order all of the materials we’ll all need – yarn, pattern, needles – and we’ll get together a few times over the summer, probably starting in July. We’ll start by casting-on together, and then meet-up again every two or three weeks to work through each pattern section. You don’t necessarily have to be at that part of the pattern, I’ll make sure I am so I can demonstrate for anyone who’s not quite there, and we can discuss any problems that may have arisen. When it’s all over, we’ll have a little celebration party and optional photoshoot, so we can show off our awesome shawls (and you can have photos to post to your Ravelry page if you’re into that). It’s the perfect opportunity to take on a challenge, like a little knitting support group, and lace work is an ideal summer project, small and light, easy to take with you on vacations and weekend getaways…

So, what do you think? I’m going to plan this out over the next couple weeks, but for now, I want your n0n-binding colourway suggestions.  Checkout Tanis’ colourway page -here- and tell me what you’d knit this in if you could (I’m pretty sure I’m leaning towards “Gold”, I know it’s typical, but it will also look AMAZING). And if you’re totally sold on this Knit Along idea and want to reserve a particular colourway for yourself, then be sure to get in touch – info@needlesinthehay.ca!

P.S. If you’re keen to participate but are a little shaky on lace knitting, Glenna’s teaching a Lace 101 workshop here next Saturday, June 2nd, and we still have a couple spots! Again, get in touch if you’d like to sign up! :)

15 Responses to “Coming Soon – Summer Knit-Along for “Lakeshore Shawl””


  1. 1 cathyhenry May 25, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    OOOHHH Yes! Put me down for some Poppy colorway. This will be a fun project and the knit-along will help me to stay on task and actually finish the piece! LOL

  2. 3 Alissa May 25, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Yes! I’m in. I’ve never knitted lace before and need a kick in the pants to get me started. I’d do gold or orange blossom. About how much would the yarn for this project cost?

    • 4 needlesinthehay May 25, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      The yarn is $42 per skein, and the pattern requires 2 skeins. A great use for any wayward tax return money, that’s for sure! (I’m also planning to offer a kit version that would include the two skeins of yarn, the pattern, a lace-specific needle, and other goodies, the estimated cost for which is $100. Since the KAL will run from July to September, I’m willing to discuss payment plan options as well) :)

  3. 7 lindsay May 25, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Peacock please!!!! Yes, I know, I’ll have a very tiny human around the time this KAL starts but I’m hoping that I’ll have enough brain energy to focus and start this with you.

  4. 8 Karen May 25, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    I’m definately interested! There are way too many colours to choose from so I will need a bit more time to decide that.

  5. 9 lisamnoble May 25, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    I knew Karen wasn’t going to be able to resist it. I don’t think my thumb’s up to it, but just wanted to say that this is an amazing idea – and the pictures of you in the shawl are awesome!

  6. 10 Lou Rivett May 25, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    sounds loke fun. count me in please. Just can’t decide on a colour right
    now, they are so beautiful.

  7. 11 Mickey May 26, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    This KAL is a great idea, Bridge. Wish I lived closer! And the picture of you wearing the shawl is beautiful!

  8. 13 Doris May 29, 2012 at 10:38 am

    I’m in as well. I will be in on Saturday to sign up and pay. Must pick a colour before then…..

  9. 14 Karina May 31, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Hi Bridget,

    I’ve never been interested in KAL’s before and suddenly this summer I find myself interested in 2 and they’re both lace. I have no idea where my brain thinks it’s going with this. I’d be interested in the dark colourways like Velvet, Spruce or Stormy. Not being sure exactly how stripey those are, I could also put Garnet (how dark is Poppy) in the mix as well. How well do you think this would work with the pattern?

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Follow us on Twitter!

Blog Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

